Skip to main content

The Hall of Fame 

The World Retail Hall of Fame was created in 2007 to recognise the lifetime achievements of the true legends of the retail world; the pioneers and entrepreneurs who have founded and led modern retailing’s greatest companies and brands. 

The World Retail Hall of Fame was launched containing the names of outstanding retailers who had created or helped build iconic retail brands as well as contributing to the success of retailing generally. Each year, new names from around the world are inducted into the World Retail Hall of Fame.

Annual Inductees are selected from 3 global regions: The Americas, EMEA and Asia Pacific 

Meet the 2024 inductees

Jean-Paul Agon

Jean-Paul Agon

Supaluck Umpujh

Supaluck Umpujh

The Mall Group
Jay Schottenstein

Jay Schottenstein

Chairman and CEO
American Eagle Outfitters, Inc.
New to 2024 - The Entrepreneur of the Year Award Marcia Kilgore

New to 2024 - The Entrepreneur of the Year Award
Marcia Kilgore

Beauty Pie and Fitflop

2023 inductees

Mindy Grossman 

Mindy Grossman 

Partner and Chair  
Consello Growth and Business Development  
Jennifer Woo 

Jennifer Woo 

Lane Crawford Joyce Group 
Marc Puig

Marc Puig

Chairman & CEO  

Previous Winners


Stefan Persson, Former Chairman and CEO, H&M 

Walter Robb, former CEO and John Mackey, Founder, Whole Foods Group 


Oscar Farinetti, Founder, Eataly 


Leonard Lauder, Chairman Emeritus, The Estee Lauder Group of Companies 


Rodney McMullen, CEO, Kroger 

Cath Kidston, Founder, Cath Kidston 

Dick Boer, former CEO, Ahold Delhaize 

Chadtip Chutrakul, CEO, Siam Piwat 


Richard Liu, Founder, Chairman and CEO, 

Luiza Trajano, Chairman of the Board, Magazine Luiza 

Stefano Pessina, Deputy Chairman and CEO, Walgreens Boots Alliance 


Terry Lundgren, Executive Chairman, Macy’s 

Marty Wikstrom, Former CEO, Richemont Fashion & Accessories 

Micky and Renuka Jagtiani, Founder and Chair of Landmark Group 


Solomon Lew, Executive Chairman, Century Plaza Group 

Jo Malone, Founder, Jo Malone London and Jo Loves 

Tommy Hilfiger 


Mohammed Alshaya, Chairman, Alshaya 

Kip Tindell, co-founder and CEO, The Container Store 

Reinaldo Solari and Juan Cuneo, former Presidents, Falabella 

Dr Christo Wiesse, Chairman, Pepkor and Shoprite 


Ray Kelvin, Founder and CEO, Ted Baker 

Sudhithan Chirathivat, Former Chairman, Central Group 

Myron Ullman, Chairman, JC Penney 


Daniel Bernard, Chairman, Kingfisher 

Martha Stewart, Founder, Martha Stewart Living Optimedia 

Michael Kok, Former CEO, Dairy Farm 


Dickson Poon, Dickson Concepts, Hong Kong 

Lord Stuart Rose, Marks & Spencer, UK 

Sir Paul Smith, Paul Smith, UK 

Lew Frankfort, Coach, USA 


Burt Tansky, Neiman Marcus, U.S. 

Isidoro Alvarez, El Corte Ingles, Spain 

Tadashi Yanai, Fast Retailing Uniqlo, Japan 


Michael Gould, Bloomingdales, USA  

Heinz Krogner, Esprit, Hong Kong  

Jack Ma, Alibaba, China 

Nordstrom family, USA,  


Brad Anderson, President and CEO, Best Buy 

Jacques Levy, CEO, Sephora Global 

Victor and William Fung, Chairman and MD, Li & Fung 


Sir Philip Green, Owner, Arcadia 

Mickey Drexler, President and CEO, J Crew 

BS Nagesh, Managing director, Shoppers Stop 

Armancio Ortega, Founder, Inditex 


Ingvar Kamprad, Founder, Ikea 

Gordon Segal, Chairman, Crate and Barrel 

Masatoshi Ito, Founder, Ito Yokado 

The Original Hall of Fame inductees launched in 2007.

Jack Cohen, Tesco, founded 1919 (UK) 

Vittorio Coin, Coin, founded 1916 (Italy) 

George Coles, Coles, founded 1914 (Australia) 

Jef Colruyt, Colruyt, founded 1924 (Belgium) 

Terence Conran, Habitat, founded 1964 (UK) 

Roger Corbett, Woolworths (Australia) 

Jules Delhaize, Delhaize, founded 1867 (Belgium) 

Valentim dos Santos Diniz, CBD (Companhia Brasileira de Distribuição), founded 1948 (Brazil) 

Robert DiRomualdo, Borders (USA) 

Gottlieb Duttweiler, Migros, founded 1925 (Switzerland) 

Timothy Eaton, Eaton's, founded 1869 (Canada) 

John Ewald, Avon (USA) 

Marshall Field, Marshall Field & Co, founded 1881 (USA) 

Don Fisher, Gap, founded 1969 (USA) 

Adam Gimbel, Saks (USA) 

David Glass, Wal-Mart (USA) 

Victor Gruen, Southdale Center (USA) 

Charles Digby Harrod, Harrods (UK) 

Erivan Haub, Tengelmann Group (Germany)  

Albert Heijn, Ahold, founded 1887 (Netherlands) 

Osuke Hibi, Mitsukoshi (Japan) 

Barbara Hulanicki, Biba, founded 1964 (UK) 

Masatoshi Ito, Ito Yokado (Japan) 

Stanley Kalms, Dixons (UK) 

Ingvar Kamprad, Ikea (Sweden) 

Rudolph Karstadt, Karstadt, founded 1881 (Germany) 

Simon Keswick, Dairy Farm (Hong Kong / China) 

Samuel Klein, Casas Bahia, founded 1952 (Brazil) 

Phil Knight, Nike, founded 1964 (USA) 

Charles Lazarus, Toys R Us, founded 1948 (USA) 

Bernard Arnault, LVMH 

Fred Lazarus Jr, Federated Stores, founded 1929 (USA) 

Jean-Pierre Le Roch, Intermarche, founded 1969 (France) 

Edouard Leclerc, Leclerc, founded 1949 (France) 

Spedan Lewis, John Lewis (UK) 

Ian MacLaurin, Tesco (UK) 

Rowland Hussey Macy, Macy's, founded 1857 (USA) 

Dominique Mandonnaud, Sephora, founded 1969 (France) 

Stanley Marcus, Neiman Marcus (USA) 

Sir John Moores, Littlewoods, founded 1932 (UK) 


Gerard Mulliez, Auchan, founded 1961 (France) 

Sidney Myer, Myer, founded 1900 (Australia) 

Lee Myung-hee, Shinsegae (South Korea) 

Isao Nakauchi, Daiei, founded 1957 (Japan) 

Archie Norman, Asda (UK) 

Takuya Okada, Aeon, founded 1969 (Japan) 

Michael Otto, Otto Group (Germany) 

James Cash Penney, JC Penney, founded 1902 (USA) 

Erling Persson, H&M, founded 1947 (Sweden) 

François Pinault, Kering, founded 1963 (France) 

Aljekandr Pomeranzev, GUM (Russia) 

Miuccia Prada, Prada (Italy) 

Feargal Quinn, Superquinn, founded 1960 (Ireland) 

Henry Racmier, LVMH (France) 

EJ Railo, Kesko, founded 1941 (Finland) 

Leonard Riggio, Barnes & Noble (USA) 

Anita Roddick, Body Shop, founded 1976 (UK) 

Ramón Areces Rodriguez, El Corte Ingles, founded 1934 (Spain) 

John James Sainsbury, Sainsbury's, founded 1869 (UK) 

Clarence Saunders, Piggly Wiggly, founded 1916 (USA) 

Dieter Schwarz, Schwarz Group (Germany) 

George Segal, Crate & Barrel, founded 1962 (USA) 

Gordon Selfridge, Selfridges, founded 1909 (UK) 

James Sinegal, Costco, founded 1983 (USA) 

Sebastian Spering, Kresge Kmart, founded 1899 (USA) 

Martha Stewart, Martha Stewart Living, founded 1991 (USA)  

Levi Strauss, Levi Strauss, founded 1873 (USA) 

Toshifumi Suzuki, 7-Eleven/Ito Yokado (Japan)  

Marvin Traub, Bloomingdale's (USA) 

Seiji Tsutsumi, Seiyu Group (Japan)  

Cal Turner Jr, Dollar General, founded 1955 (USA) 

Ian Wade, AS Watson (Hong Kong / China)  

Charles Walgreen Jr, Walgreens (USA) 

Sam Walton, Wal-Mart, founded 1962 (USA)  

John Wanamaker, Wanamakers, founded 1861 (USA) 

Aaron Montgomery Ward, Montgomery Ward, founded 1872 (USA)  

George Weston, George Weston, founded 1882 (Canada) 

Leslie Wexner, The Limited, founded 1963 (USA)  

Robert Wood, Sears Roebuck (USA) 

Frank Winfield Woolworth, FW Woolworth, founded 1878 (USA) 

About Hall of Fame 

Launched in 2007 with a founding group of 100 members, The Hall of Fame honours retail’s most influential representatives. The world’s greatest retailers celebrated in the World Retail Hall of Fame share many qualities. They are innovators. They are brand builders. They demonstrate clear vision, courage and determination to make their dreams a reality. They have profound customer insight and they are driven to improve the lives of consumers. But above all, they are leaders and role models. 

Want to know more about World Retail Congress? Discover all of the other exciting happenings across our 3-day programme.  

What’s On?


Join retail leaders shaping the future of global retailers